Monday, February 2, 2015

Youth Media Awards 2015

The American Library Association announced the 2015 youth media award winners this morning. 

The complete list is here.  Winners and honor books in our library include:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

honor books:
El Deafo by Cece Bell
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend illustrated and written by Dan Santat

honor books:
Sam & Dave Dig a Hole illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett
The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus illustrated by Melissa Sweet, written by Jen Bryant
This One Summer illustrated by Jillian Tamaki, written by Mariko Tamaki

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults: 

Brown Girl Dreaming  by Jacqueline Woodson

honor books:
The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

I’ll Give You the Sun written by Jandy Nelson

Honor Books:
This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki

Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults:
The 2015 winner is Sharon M. Draper.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children:

The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus written by Jen Bryant

Honor Books:
Brown Girl Dreaming written by Jacqueline Woodson

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book:

You Are (Not) Small written by Anna Kang and illustrated by Christopher Weyant

Honor Books:
Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page written by Cynthia Rylant, illustrated by Arthur Howard
Waiting Is Not Easy! written and illustrated by Mo Willems

See the complete list of this year's winners here

No comments:

Post a Comment